Truth Served Fresh & Hot

FDC Decides between Muntu and Besigye Candidate Amuriat

0 86

Mugisha Muntu and Patrick Amuriat will face off at the ballot as 1,200 delegates vote for Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) president.

FDC, Uganda’s largest opposition party, delegates have gathered at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole to choose from four candidates.

The candidates are:


He is the current president, and Uganda’s former army commander. Muntu is seen as a moderately peaceable member.

Other members, especially four-time presidential candidate Dr Kizza Besigye, are seen as radicals, choosing defiance instead of Muntu’s pottage of compliance and defiance.

Muntu’s opponents say he is a mole, working for three-decade president Yoweri Museveni. But Muntu has denied working for Museveni.

Muntu has hinged his candidature on building party structures.

Slogan: “Building FDC Together”

He enjoys the support of members including, Kiira municipality MP and opposition chief whip Ssemujju Nganda.

Ssemujju is the head of the campaign taskforce, explaining why Muntu needs another term.

Others are:

Wasswa Birigwa — Party chairman

Alice Alaso — deputy president for eastern Uganda

Patrick Baguma — deputy president for western Uganda

Paul Mwiru — deputy spokesman

Idi Ouma — chairman FDC Youth League

Amanya Mushega

Augustine Ruzindana

John Kazoora



Patrick Amuriat, former Kumi municipality MP, belongs to the ‘defiance ideology’ faction.

He enjoys the backing of Besigye.

Besigye has beat Muntu thrice, to become party president.

Others supporting Amuriat include:

Nandala Mafabi — secretary general

Geoffrey Ekanya — deputy treasurer

Ingrid Turinawe — mobilisation secretary

Faridah Nangozi — vice-chairperson FDC Women’s League

Wafula Oguttu — former Leader of Opposition in Parliament

Harold Kaija — deputy secretary general

Mubarak Munyagwa — Kawempe South MP

Francis Mwijukye –Buhweju County MP

Others are: KCCA councillor Doreen Nyanjura

Historical members: Livingstone Kizito, Mukalazi Kizito, Bbaale Bwanika and Margaret Wokuri.

Slogan: “One Party, One Strategy.”

OTHER CANDIDATES are Daniel Matsiko and Moses Byamugisha.


L-R Amuriat, Muntu and Byamugisha
L-R Amuriat, Muntu and Byamugisha

The race between Muntu is expected to be tight, given the capacities of those backing them.

In a Thursday night TV show, Amuriat and Muntu said they will accept defeat if they lose today’s race.

“I was serving in the party before I came up to show interest in this position, when I do not go through tomorrow, I will return to my capacity and serve the party,” said Amuriat.

“I have lost three times, but I keep coming back, that is to show that I am very democratic,” emphasized Muntu.


Other positions:

  •  Deputy Treasurer( Mobilisation)

Candidates: Buhweju County MP Francis Mwijukye and MP Franka Akello

  • Secretary for Labour

Voting starts at 12:30pm

Ends at 1:30 pm

Vote tallying: 2:30pm-3:30pm

Declaration of results: 3:30pm

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.