Truth Served Fresh & Hot

FULL LIST: Eddy Kenzo Beats Wizkid, Diamond Platnumz to to Win Two Afrima Awards

0 109

Ugandan singer Eddy Kenzo won big at the 2017 All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) held on Sunday evening at the Convention Centre Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos, Nigeria.

Kenzo of the Big Talent Entertainment outfit beat Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz, Alikiba and Kenyan rapper Octopizzo  to win the Best Male East African Artiste accolade.

His ‘Biology Album’ also beat that of Nigeria’s Wizkid titled ‘Sounds From The Other Side’ to bring home the Album of the Year award.


“From the bottom of my heart I wanna thank you (fans) so much for being part of this greatest success. I have had sleepless nights hustling tirelessly to make sure we go an extra mile every time,” Kenzo expressed his happiness on this milestone.

“Winning best male East Africa and best album at the Afrima shows how great our God is and how He works in ways we cannot see. This is not for me alone but for Uganda, East Africa and Africa generally. To all my fellow East African artists, let’s work so hard to get more of these for our continent.”


Best Central African Act (Male) – Locko

Best Central African Act (Female) – Montess

Best East African Act (Male) – Eddy Kenzo

Best East African Act (Female) – Nandy

Best Southern Africa Act (Male) – Emtee

Best West African Act (Male) – Wizkid

Best West African Act (Female) – Tiwa Savage

Best African Collaboration – Alikiba feat M.I – “AJE“

Best Artist in African Rock – Gilad Millo (Kenya)

Best Artist or Group in African RnB & Soul – Alikiba feat. M.I – “AJE“

Best Artist or Group in African Contemporary: DJ Tunez feat. Wande Coal – “Iskaba“

Best Artist or Group in African Raggae & Dancehall – 2Baba – “Holy Holy“

Best Artist or Group in African Hip Hop – Ycee – “Juice“

Best Artist of Group in African Pop – Toofan

Video of the Year – Orezi x Adasa Cookey – “Cooking Pot“

Best Female Artist in Inspirational Music: Asikey George

African Songwriter of the Year – Simi

Producer of the Year – DJ Coublon for Seyi Shay’s “Yolo Yolo“

Artist of the Year – Wizkid

Song of the Year – Wizkid feat. Drake – “Come Closer“

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: